Saves copies of all job and system configurations.
This plugin saves a copy of the configuration file of a job (config.xml) for every change made and of the system configuration (not activated by default). You can also see what changes have been made by which user if you configured a security policy.
The plugin also provides an overview page of all changes. You can find it under <jenkins_url>/jobConfigHistory or reach it via links in the sidepanel of the main and the system configuration pages. The overview page lists at first only changes made to the system configuration (for performance reasons), but there are links to view either all job configuration histories or just the deleted jobs or all kinds of configuration history entries together (which may take some time to load, depending on the number of jobs in your instance).
It is also possible to get a side-by-side view of the differences between two configurations and to restore an old version of a job's configuration. (The latter is only available for jobs, not for system changes.) However, if you restore an older version of the config file and the new version contains fields that were not present in the older version, the restored version will still contain these fields, although they were not present in the original.
Skip to end of metadata Go to start of metadata